orange lilies of may: part I

6/20/12… 12:43 PM

“haha! There ain’t nothin’ I would like betta than for you, Ms. Hill, eyes so brown, to come on over with some key lime pie. Could meet pa right up high in them blue skies after one taste, I’m sure.”

Yep, that’s exactly my word-for-word to Ms. Hill from Church. Our back and forth been carryin’ on for 23 years. My watch been done broke all this time I’ve been waitin’ for her to bring home some of her delicious pie, and by pie, you know I don’t mean no pie.

Dida been yellin’ to the gods for some lightnin’ to strike down poor Lionel. I don’t know what he did today but you know Dida, always in a stink, foul over some one not mindin’ her. She need to let up is what she need to do. I’ve been sayin’ to the neighbors that she need to give the keys to Phil. She got too many woman problems to be takin’ good care of a property like that.

You know, those young things next door, Julie and what’s her name, can never seem to remember it- Freida? She don’t look Spanish though. She always stoppin’ quick to say her hello and touchin’ my arm like she want somethin’. Well, I was tellin’ them the story of me, Hank and those other white boys ridin’ through California into Nevada back in May of ’63. I was the only black man that they kept around, well unless we got into town. That’s when the rest of the white ones got to starin’.

(Sugar Cane QWOC Writing Workshop homework: Write from the perspective of a stranger or acquaintance in a genre in which you have never written. Perspective: my elderly Black neighbor from the South. Genre: Fiction; diary entry.)

Leave a Reply

